Login  |  Create Account  |  Home > School and Community > Honors and Awards > Activist of the Year   Search

Activist of the Year Award

The Richard C. Bartlett Activist of the Year Award recognizes members who vigorously advocate in political activities or specific causes important to the mission and goals of CSEA. 

Nomination criteria
Nominees must have performed any significant act of a humanitarian nature:

• Assisted in building the union
• Helped to put forward the face of CSEA into the community
• Attended mobilizing events or volunteered in campaigns
• Promoted the Victory Club
• Advanced the labor movement in general by participating in coalitions or other rally-building partnerships
• Involved other rank and file members in union activities

Award recipients
2015 Sandra Rivera, Rio Hondo College Chapter 477
2014 Lora Lee, Desert Sands Chapter 106
2013 Mary Lavezzoli, Old Adobe Chapter 646
2012 Rebecca Hadley, Monterey COE Chapter 35
2011 David Kong, Monterey COE Chapter 35
2010 Debra Cook-Lewis, Wilsona Chapter 723
2009 Eunice Grigsby, LACOE Paraeducators Chapter 624
2009 Isa Weichmann, Sylvan Chapter 73
2008 Eddie Padilla, Merced City Schools Chapter 530
2008 Michael Casias, Merced City Schools Chapter 530
2007 Ben Valdapena, Yucaipa-Calimesa Chapter 209
2006 Rebecca Scheel, Gilroy Chapter 69
2005 Jane Bausa, San Diego Paraeducators Chapter 759
2004 Tony Rojas, Turlock Chapter 56